Don’t let Yoga pass you by!

When I first starting doing yoga, I fell in love with the practice.  I remember telling my friends that someday I wanted to open my own studio.  I even had the name picked out.  But it wasn’t until this year that I had the opportunity to fall in love with yoga all over again and this time take action.  That’s why I started going to “yoga school”.  It’s actually called Advanced Student/Teacher Training at Yoga-Movement, where I attend in Walnut Creek, California.

Then, I had a dream last night that I suddenly woke up and found that I was very old.  Not only was I very old, but  I was taking a test.  I’m guessing the test thing is about all the tests I have to take with my business in which I make a living.  In my job where I make a living, I am an insurance broker.  I sell Medicare plans and that requires a lot of test taking.  I have to take a national exam in order to sell certain products and then for each carrier that I represent, I have to take their series of exams also.  All the tests have a high margin to pass (usually 85 to 90%) but you only have a few opportunities to take the exams – usually three times.  The process is psychologically wearing and sometimes I just can’t think of studying for another exam.

Falling out of headstand

Falling out of head stand

Sometimes you have to stick with what you know to get where you want to go, and that’s what I’m doing right now.  I won’t be able to open up my own studio right away.  I’ll probably start out as a substitute teacher and do some privates lessons on the side.  Next I’ll probably enroll in another teacher training for a 300 hour program and when I’m done, I’ll have a 500 hour certificate.  And really when you think about it, a lot can change in the future so even though I have a plan, I’m not overly attached to the outcome.

But the point is that I will be working toward my goal all along.  The last thing I want to do in life is to wake up very old and realize that I’ve just been taking tests all along and I haven’t done what I really want to do.  And what I really want to do is teach yoga.

I’m not saying this will be an easy path.  Trying to do two careers at one time can be pretty tough, but having the passion that I have and knowing how much I love yoga and teaching yoga, maybe it won’t seem so long.

One thought on “Don’t let Yoga pass you by!

Leave a Reply

