Lessons in practicing

Today is Thursday, the day before I teach my class.  As I walk down the hall toward my yoga room, I feel a little resentment because this practice is about tomorrow’s class and not about me.  I think this comes from not making my own practice a priority in my life.  I very often have other things that take priority, like studying for my Ayurveda course or work as an insurance broker.  I’ve been making meditation a priority, but then I seem to switch back and forth on priorities between yoga asana and more of a cardiac workout like brisk walking or my elliptical machine.

It’s hard to manage everything I’m supposed to do while going to school, working and trying to keep the household in order.  Occasionally, my friend, Diane Valentine, will offer me another class to teach at Yoga and Movement Center , but I don’t want to disappoint anyone and so I turn her down.  If I add just one more thing to my busy life, I just might split in two!  Leaning not to disappoint anyone seems to be an ongoing lesson for me.  I hope to master that at some point.  Too many lunch appointments, too many “industry meetings”, too many people who request help all seem to drain me and yet I crave the people connection.

I sit on my yoga mat and thumb through the sequences I’ve put together in the past.  I pick out a couple and start to practice.  Finally the juices start to flow and it comes to me how to put tomorrow’s sequence together.  I hate teaching the same order of asana’s week after week.  I’m sure the students will hate it too, but when I’m the student, I don’t have any issue with starting things the same as last week.  Some teachers do exactly the same opening for every class and not only do the students love it, they find it comforting.  I always worry that my students will be bored if I do the same thing.

There have been a few instances this last year where I’ve had no time to think of something new and I just pick a sequence I’ve done before and head off to teach the class.  I’ve had maybe 20 minutes to see if the sequence is okay.  Realistically, I don’t think the students will notice that the sequence I’m teaching is the exact same thing they did three months ago and yet I will change the sequence a bit here and there as I’m teaching.

I only get through about half of the asana’s this morning before it’s time for meditation, but just before I end, I do manage to hang upside down in Baddha Konasana for a good five minutes.  Sandy Carmellini is right, something changes in your brain after a few minutes of being inverted.  I come out in a much better mood.

Baddha Konasana on the ropes

Baddha Konasana on the ropes

Namaste

Leave a Reply

